Converting DVD lectures to mp3

I don’t study any more since December 2006. I’ve completed my Masters, and… the game seemed to be over. But when a friend has recommended TTC courses to me, I started listening to them… and become addicted. I’ve completed Philosophy of Religion by James Hall, Great Ideas of Psychology by Daniel N. Robinson and Explaining Social Deviance by Paul Root Wolpe. I’m currently listening to Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning by David Zarefsky. I have a few more courses to go through, so I won’t be out of lectures anytime soon.

However, it turned out that watching them as videos doesn’t work well for me. When I’m at home, I have plenty of other things I’d like to do. But they work well in audio, as I can listen to them when commuting. I’m going to buy new courses in audio, but what about those ones I have already in DVD? Can I convert them into audio?

I’ve put together a shell script, which dumps all tracks from DVD and encodes them into mp3 format. It also normalizes volume, so the voice of the speaker has more or less constant volume, which is good when listening in noisy environment.

It was written on Linux, if you’re a Windows user, you can try running it under Cygwin.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.