Dreamhost 100MB memory limit

I’ve recently found a thread on Google Groups which mentioned a 100MB memory limit for FCGI processes on Dreamhost, which can be a reason for killing them by their process monitor.

One of the posts says:

Interestingly, this limit doesn’t apply to Ruby processes. When I asked them if this was an admission that Ruby on Rails has a sad deployment story, the response was “Ahem.. =)”

This could explain my trick with the “dispatch.fcgi” file name, assuming this is how their process monitors detect Ruby on Rails. Again, it’s only my guesses.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.

2 thoughts on “Dreamhost 100MB memory limit”

  1. MEMORY LIMIT ON DREAMHOST PRIVATE SERVER PS ?

    Hello,

    I set

    ini_set(‘memory_limit’, ‘150M’);

    in your sites/default/settings.php file

    because 100M was not working anymore for a very large website, do you know what is the limit on DREAMHOST servers ?

    Can you think of any problem if i set the limit to 200 or more to be safe in the future ?

    Thanks.

Comments are closed.