My figurative outbursts

I had a lots of fun putting journalistic and figurative expressions in my thesis. I agree with Lenina and understand that leaving them there would cause more harm than good. While removing them, I felt like I’m removing some of my personality from the thesis. I didn’t want them to be completely lost, because they remind me of the fun I had writing them. The best place for them to live is here.

  • An analytical mind setting a foot on a data set. (And leaving a deep print)
  • …saying that firemen are causing fire.
  • When reliable data is required, it must be 100% verified, period.
  • Data verification is an important issue. However, this thesis may be considered a scenario in case 100% verified data is provided, as the trouble don’t end there.
  • A greedy algorithm and a brutal attack (these are actually legitimate computer science terms).
  • Power of statistical tests.
  • A program would be condemned to be user-hostile.
  • A program doesn’t even say “thank you”.
7 Responses to “My figurative outbursts”

  1. anaj Says:

    Hi there – oh, I’ve just realized that you have already submitted the thesis, so my suggestion might not make to much sense. I remember that (in my masters thesis, which I already submitted four years ago), I had included a little off-topic final chapter which I called Epilogue. which was at the same time and evaluation of the thesis, but informed by personal experience, and teeming with this type of expression. But maybe I would not recommed to do such a thing with a PhD thesis… anyhow, the mark the the MA thesis was the best possible, so I don’t think it cause any harm (but then again, it was a degree in communication studies… I hope I will be able to post this now without having to logout!

  2. anaj Says:

    Yay! Did work alright:-)

  3. lenina Says:

    Did I spot all of them? I don’t remember all of the above, though the footprint one and the firemen are my favourites :P. And the discussion over power, strength, weight.

  4. automatthias Says:

    Yes, you did. I found most of them by searching the sources for words “figurative” and “journalistic”. ;-)

  5. anaj Says:

    Just a brief note. I got feedback from the WP peeps, and they think that Blogger has changed something so as to make the import to WP more difficult. See here:

    anaj wrote:
    Sigh… I will never move back to blogspot again, nevertheless I
    thought importing my blog would be cool… am not suceeding, however,
    am able to register my blok in the admin tool and then to select on of
    my four blogs… but as soon as the importing activity starts, I get a
    404 on https://anaj.wordpress.com/wp-admin/login.do

    This happens both in Safari and Firefox

    Hi,
    I’m sorry about this but I think – from other reports – that something
    must have changed in Blogger’s code and unfortunately there is nothing
    we can do about this right now. Sorry,

    Podz

  6. Ja-Joanna Says:

    Did you write your thesis in ENGLISH???

  7. automatthias Says:

    Well, I suppose I did!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

