Archive for August 25th, 2006

A piece of code during job interview

2006-08-25

“Do you have any further questions?”
“No.”
“Thank you then, we will contact you.”

I left. When I was outside, I thought: they didn’t ask me to write a piece of code! I was asked, what’s the difference between __getattr__ and __getattribute__, but they didn’t want to see, how do I actually write code.

My favorite author, Joel Spolsky, writes:

Would you hire a magician without asking them to show you some magic tricks? Of course not.

That’s right… so I wasn’t asked to do any tricks nor asked about programming techniques. But I was asked about desired salary, which is always a tough part. I guess a company knows better, how much money it has for an employee. I was told I asked for too much (but they always say that, don’t they?).

So maybe next time I should…

“Do you have any further questions?”
“Yes. Why haven’t you ask me to write a piece of code?”

Or maybe I shouldn’t? It could question the competences of the person interviewing me. I’m not sure if that’s a desired attitude. It could be even perceived insolent.

Maybe it’s about the way of asking the question? For example: “I thought I would be asked to write a piece of code.” Or maybe there’s no right way to say it? Maybe it’s better to keep for myself the thought that they should’ve asked me?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers