Wengophone, ALSA and choppy sound

I had some problems with the Wengophone Classic, because it produced a choppy sound with my Audigy Value 2 soundcard (emu10k1 driver). I first made Wengophone work by recompiling it with OSS support instead of ALSA. My Linux is using ALSA drivers with OSS emulation, so probably OSS was doing some kind of conversion (resampling?) that Wengophone couldn’t do without.


I managed to get some continuous sound after writing an ~/.asoundrc file that created a plug device. A plug is behaving just like a normal sound card, but it does a sample rate conversion if necessary.

My ~/.asoundrc file:

# Create an alias for my sound card
pcm.emu10k1 {
type hw
card 0
}

# Create a mixer controls for the alias
ctl.emu10k1 {
type hw
card 0
}

# Create a plug device, with my sound card as a slave
pcm.typeplug {
type plug
slave.pcm “emu10k1”
}
To use the “typeplug” device, go to the Wengophone configuration and choose the “typeplug” as the sound device. You can also select it as the input sound device.

The plug device gave a continuous sound, but with frequent clicks. So I don’t yet want to use the ALSA sound with Wengophone, even with the plug device resampling magic.

Interestingly, the same problem affects NG. The difference is that I can’t make NG work with OSS. Which means, I can’t make it (nicely) work at all. I’ll stick with Classic.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.

1 thought on “Wengophone, ALSA and choppy sound”

Comments are closed.