Regression tree and an expert system

I've recently had a class about the expert systems. We used three software packages:

  • PROLOG language
  • CLIPS
  • PCShell

All the expert systems required some code writing and allowed us to create a tool that asks some questions and gives an answer, based on the hardcoded rules. We only used basic functionality.

Building expert systems in the way we did was rather unpleasant. Especially writing rules. But what about some integration? I can create regression trees in R, what about automatic creation of an expert system basing on that? I could take a regression tree from R, use graphviz to plot the tree and then generate code for an expert system.

Example of a classification tree

The classes didn't give us enough time to build such tool. I'd like to do it some day.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.