Summertime

I don't compose or arrange music anymore, but I still have a dream of creating a professional recording of my version of Summertime. The idea came as an inspiration from The Brand New Heavies' Sometimes. There are hundreds of Summertime versions already, but I believe that this one deserves a professional recording. I have a prototype, which was being recorded from 1998 to 2001. At that time, I struggled to record it on an overclocked Celeron 300. The drums were recorded with four microphones, two of them so bad that they could catch frequencies no wider than 300Hz – 8kHz.

The last time I worked with this arrangement was in 2001. If it's 2006 and I still can't get it out of my mind, it means I need to do something about it.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.

2 thoughts on “Summertime”

  1. I downloaded it and it’s fantastic! Beautiful! Now I’m singing it all the time!

    The Germans say “Ohrwurm”, when you MUST sing a song all the time. It means “ear worm”. 🙂

  2. Hi,

    I’m a member of an international group of collectors of recordings of Summertime and while searching for new info I came about your site and read about your arrangement and the prototype thereof.
    Could you pls send that to me by email?

    I’m sorry to correct you but Summertime has been performed at least 18,106 times of which 12,250 recordings exist. We have only allmost 7,500 full recordings and about 1,000 samples and incomplete ones in our collection

    Regards,
    ‘Hans

Comments are closed.