Gentoo installation in background

I bought two DVDs with Gentoo distribution yesterday. After reading the installation manual for a while, I realized that I don't have to reboot to start installing Gentoo. I just picked one partition, unpacked two tarballs, chrooted and proceeded with the instructions.

Now, I'm working on my school project with Gentoo installation in the background. I reniced the processes, so they don't get in my way.

Why do I want to try Gentoo? Well, what attracts me, is: easy software installation, a whole lot of packages, control over the system. Am I fond of the optimizations? Well, I don't know yet. I'll run the system and see if I can feel any difference. After reading http://funroll-loops.org, I won't talk any more about that because I don't want myself quoted there. Optimize, optimize, my precious…

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.