Vendor-supplied drivers

I'm working on a project where Linux based desktop computers will be used for data gathering. Each workstation will be equipped with a printer. I got the printer and it happened to be Lexmark Z617. CUPS doesn't list this model. Google search didn't reveal any drivers for it. Finally, I got a vendor-manufactured driver for Z600 series. I installed the driver and configured the printer with CUPS. Computer did recognize an USB device, installed driver was listed in CUPS, so everything seemed fine. Except for that printer doesn't print anything.
This was with Slackware 10.1 and 10.2, not I'm going to try with Ubuntu 5.10 – maybe it's some distribution-specific glitch? Driver vendor says that it was tested with Red Hat 9.0. I wonder who uses Red Hat 9.0 anymore.
I also took a look at the license. It says:
You may make a single copy of the Software solely for backup
purposes or installation. You may not alter, decrypt, reverse assemble,
reverse compile or otherwise translate the Software. You may not copy the
Software into any public network.

So, will any Linux distribution be allowed to include those drivers? I doubt it. Conclusion? Do NOT buy Lexmark.

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.

1 thought on “Vendor-supplied drivers”

  1. You have perfectly riht!Im in tha same situation…when i must print i must use Windows!

Comments are closed.