Nokia 6610i and IrDA

I finally communicated with my Nokia 6610i by IrDA port in my Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Pro V2000D. It required a nasty modification in the driver code (nsc-ircc.c), but finally I got both devices talking to each other. I used gammu. Now I can send SMS messages and download/upload graphics. I'd like to modify the nsc-ircc driver so it recognizes and talks to my IrDA port nicely. Now I just commented out two lines of code that prevented the driver from loading after an unsuccessful IO port allocation.

UPDATE: As for the kernel version 2.6.16, the nsc-ircc driver works fine without any modification. 

Author: automatthias

You won't believe what a skeptic I am.

2 thoughts on “Nokia 6610i and IrDA”

  1. Hi!. 🙂
    I have a 6610i as well but i have a question; Do you know what is the purpose of the LED-like-thing on the top right hand side of the front of the phone??
    Thanks 😉

    [AM: link deleted because the e-mail provided is not valid]

  2. The only thing that comes to my mind is the IrDA port itself. Unfortunately, I don’t own 6610i anymore (it was stolen). I looked at the photo and couldn’t find anything else LED-like.

Comments are closed.