Boomerang in Dublin

Lenina was laughing at me when I mentioned that I was going to find a place in Dublin for throwing a boomerang. Somehow, there’s a perfect place just on my way to work! Every morning, if the wind is not too strong, I just can’t resist taking my boomerang out from my bag and giving it few rounds over the sports ground.

Too bad my photo camera (Canon G3) makes only 15 frames per second. I have also found out that those 15 frames are not distributed evenly; if you take a closer look the cars in the beginning, you will notice that they repeatedly “accelerate” and “decelerate”.

I’m thinking about buying three more boomerangs:

  1. A boomerang for kids, light and easy to throw, for warm-ups and for my GF. My current boom requires very strong throws.
  2. Aerobie Orbiter is sensitive to throwing technique. What’s unique about it is that it can be tuned! (You know, those Linux geeks, they just have to customize everything…)
  3. A long-range boomerang, such as Space Ranger or perhaps Challenger II.

The note at the bottom of Challenger’s page warns about the alternative, expert throwing technique that this boomerang requires. I wonder what that might be. Since I don’t know anybody who knows how to throw a boomerang, I’ll have to find out by trial and error.

One Response to “Boomerang in Dublin”

  1. boomerangs.com « Maciej Bliziński Says:

    [...] had a lot of fun throwing it. Then I’ve decided I want more of those toys. The one and pretty much only [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 489 other followers

