Archive for December 1st, 2005

JBL Creature II

2005-12-01


Thirsty of nice stereo sound, I bought JBL Creature II Speakers. I like the idea of having 3 speakers: one big speaker for low, indirectional frequencies and satellites for directional middle and high range. Specialized speakers can do the job better than one speaker that tries to generate the whole range and fails. Having only one low frequency speaker is also a good idea. Why have two things of the same kind when just one is enough? Of course, this is not true for satellites, since they need to cooperate to create the stereo sound.
At first I thought that they are in shape of the Gaussian function, but then I plotted the Gaussian function in GNU Octave and realized that Gaussian function doesn't have this kind of round top. I wonder what function was used to create the shape. Formula, anybody?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers